Mornings

Libby Life

Mornings get a bad reputation. They are seen as the one time of day everyone hates. In my younger days, I enjoyed sleeping in, but as I get older I’ve learned to appreciate mornings.

As the smell of coffee drifts to the second floor of our little home, it reminds me that I am about to get my personal quiet time. There is nothing better than that first cup of coffee, in a quiet home, with time to scroll through your social media news feeds or just sit quietly and enjoy the peacefulness. My house is always usually clean and tidy, there are no tasks or chores tugging at my attention (other than feeding Libby). I have nothing to concentrate on except the quiet, and my coffee.

Mornings are practically the only time Libby is calm. If I time it just right, I can sneak in a few snuggles before the alarm goes off, even before coffee. As anyone with a Jack Russell will vouch for, the rest of the day she is hell on wheels. I get about 20 minutes a day before the madness begins.

As a lover of mornings, I challenge you to find the good in them. Sure, it’s hard sometimes to get out of the warm bed and put my feet in slippers and drag my tired self downstairs. Especially here in northern Michigan where some mornings the snow has piled up overnight. I encourage you to look for little things that make mornings enjoyable. They only happen once a day, after all.

Leave a comment